Village Globals 공개
[search 0]

Download the App!

show episodes
 
Loading …
show series
 
Travis Hedge (@the_hedgefund), co-founder of Vouch Insurance, and Nick Shalek (@nshalek), partner at Ribbit Capital, join Erik Torenberg and Lucas Bagno to discuss: - How Vouch came to be and their vision to be insurance for the innovation economy from inception to IPO. - What Travis and Nick are most excited about in insurtech. - The enormity of t…
 
Joe Garafalo, co-founder of Mosaic, and Trevor Oelschig, managing director at General Catalyst, join Erik on this episode to discuss: - How Mosaic is building the future of tooling for modern finance teams and how it started from the team’s time at Palantir. - Why finance has to be the connective tissue for the organization, given that they have a …
 
Brie Wolfson (@zebriez), founder of the The Kool-Aid Factory, joins Erik to discuss: - Why there are detailed playbooks for creating products and other tactical advice for startups, but very little on building culture at your startup. - Why culture is “how it feels to get the work done” and why it’s a set of actions rather than beliefs. - Why it al…
 
Matt Schulman (@Matthewschulman), founder and CEO of Pave, joins Erik to discuss: - Why your company needs a compensation philosophy. - How COVID and The Great Resignation have wreaked havoc on employee compensation. - The fact that employee churn is up 2X over last year and software engineering salaries have increased by 20%. - Competing philosoph…
 
Meka Asonye (@BigMekaStyle), partner at First Round Capital, joined Ben Casnocha at a Village Global event to discuss: - Meka’s time with the Cleveland Indians and what it taught him about finding hidden talent. - Why customer obsession is so important to Meka when looking at a potential investment and concrete examples of what that looks like in p…
 
Jacob Helberg (@jacobhelberg), author of The Wires of War, joins Erik to discuss: - The “gray war” that Jacob believes the US is in with China, and why he feels it’s important to call it a war rather than a competition. - Technology and cyber weapons and how they can be used for political warfare with plausible denability. - The window of opportuni…
 
Vance Roush (@vanceroush), founder and CEO of Overflow, joins Erik to discuss: - Overflow, the online donation platform for non-cash assets, and the story behind its creation. - Why the market is actually “sneakily big” and how he plans to create a new category that unlocks net new generosity by making donating shares, crypto, or other non-cash ass…
 
Ben Casnocha (@bencasnocha), Erik Torenberg (@eriktorenberg), Anne Dwane (@adwane), partners at Village Global, and David Booth (@david__booth), co-CEO of On Deck, discuss: - ODX in partnership with Village Global, the $100M+ community-backed accelerator that plans to invest in 1000 companies over the next few years: https://beondeck.com/x - The ke…
 
Andy Rachleff (@arachleff), president and CEO of Wealthfront, joins Anne Dwane and Lucas Bagno to discuss: - What Andy learned from endowment investing and his quest to democratize excellent investing advice at Wealthfront. - Why you shouldn’t try to time the market and why in his opinion all-time highs are “absolutely irrelevant.” - Andy’s lessons…
 
Ben Reinhardt (@Ben_Reinhardt), Research Fellow at the Astera Institute and host of Idea Machines Podcast, joins Erik to discuss: - Why we don’t have as much science fiction-like technology in the world as we could, and how to turn more of it into reality. - Why venture capital does a poor job of funding new physical technology and why ten year ven…
 
Leigh Marie Braswell (@LM_Braswell) of Founders Fund and Erik Bernhardsson (@bernhardsson), who built the music recommendation system at Spotify, join Erik to discuss: - How data flows through a company and the business decisions that can be made based on data. - The waves of change in the data tooling landscape over the last decade and why we’re o…
 
Abhijeet Patra (@abhijeetpatra88), former Deep Tech entrepreneur and venture fellow at Susa Ventures who is now leading Deep Tech at On Deck, joins Erik to discuss: - What exactly Deep Tech is and some of the examples of technologies involved, including nanotechnology, quantum computing, hardware, autonomous vehicles, space, manufacturing, machine …
 
In this extended episode of Venture Stories, Erik interviews Tyler Cowen (@tylercowen), professor of economics at George Mason University. They discuss about a wide range of topics, including Tyler’s book Stubborn Attachments, the value of watching sports, travel, Bitcoin, the Knicks, and Effective Altruism — among many, many others. Tyler explains…
 
Gabby Dizon (@gabusch), co-founder of Yield Guild Games, and Linda Xie (@ljxie), co-founder of Scalar Capital, join Erik Torenberg and Lucas Bagno on this episode to discuss: - Why Gabby started YGG and the evolution of play-to-earn and blockchain in gaming. - Why gaming is a great way to onboard someone to the crypto ecosystem, as NFTs have done. …
 
Erik is joined by Zach Perret (@zachperret), co-founder and CEO of Plaid, and David Haber (@dhaber), former co-founder and CEO of Bond Street, now at Goldman Sachs. Zach and David talk about how they met and how they started their respective companies. They explain how to find out whether you are passionate enough about an idea to start a company a…
 
Elad Gil (@eladgil), entrepreneur and investor, and Kevin Hartz (@kevinhartz), investor and co-founder of Eventbrite, join Erik on this episode. They discuss: - What they think is special about each other’s investing abilities. - How certain people are able to stay relevant in every investing cycle. - Kevin’s latest venture and the path he took to …
 
We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. We were thrilled to host a masterclass roundtable session for our founders with John Donahoe when he was CEO of ServiceNow. John is now CEO of Nike and was CEO of eBay for more than seven years. He is known as one of the most inspirational leaders in Silicon Valley and is a …
 
We’re re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. On this special live episode of Venture Stories, Bill Gates was interviewed in 2018 at San Francisco’s Exploratorium by Julia Hartz, co-founder and CEO of Eventbrite. We are honored to have Bill Gates, one of the most successful entrepreneurs of all time, among our luminary …
 
We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. Erik and co-host Anuj Abrol (@nujabrol) interviewed Keith Rabois (@rabois). Keith starts out by talking about why he joined Founders Fund and the reason that the structure of VC means we don’t see more people moving from one fund to another. They talk about the future of ven…
 
Erik is joined on this episode by Mike Maples (@m2jr) of Floodgate. The discuss: - The difference between fake growth and real growth, and how to know which one your company is experiencing. - Why fake growth has taken hold in so many companies in the Valley, and its broader systemic causes. - The difference between value hacking and growth hacking…
 
We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. This episode was recorded in front of a live audience in San Francisco, featuring Tyler Cowen (@tylercowen), professor of economics at George Mason University and Eric Schmidt (@ericschmidt), former executive chairman and CEO at Google/Alphabet. Cowen talks to Schmidt about …
 
We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. Chamath Palihapitiya (@chamath), CEO of Social Capital, and Reid Hoffman (@reidhoffman), partner at Greylock, joined Village Global co-founder and partner Ben Casnocha at a special Village Global event. Angel Island brought together 100+ angel investors for talks from world-…
 
We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer. Sarah Tavel (@sarahtavel), partner at Benchmark, and Nabeel Hyatt (@nabeel), partner at Spark Capital, joined Erik on this episode. They discussed: - Why they love investing in marketplaces and the evolution of marketplaces over the last decade. - Why the wave of Uber For X …
 
Ramit Sethi (@ramit), founder and CEO of I Will Teach You To Be Rich, joined Ben Casnocha to discuss: - Ramit’s philosophy of personal finance. He says he focuses on $30,000 questions as opposed to $3 questions because there’s no limit on how much you can earn, but there is a limit on how much you can save. - How “invisible scripts” rule how you th…
 
Max Greenwald (@MaxPGreenwald), founder and CEO of Warmly, joins Erik to discuss: - Max’s journey navigating the idea maze to start the company. - The problems with virtual meetings and why they lead to fatigue. - How to ask questions of prospective customers without leading them into providing the answers you want to hear. - Why he says that all i…
 
Loading …

빠른 참조 가이드

Google login Twitter login Classic login